Region K Planning Group

Region KThe Lower Colorado Regional Water Planning Area is composed of all or parts of 14 counties, stretching from Mills County in the Hill Country southeast to Matagorda County on the Gulf Coast. Most of the region lies in the Colorado River Basin. Major cities in the region include Austin, Bay City, Pflugerville, and Fredericksburg. The largest economic sectors in the region include agriculture, government, service, manufacturing, and retail trade. The manufacturing sector is primarily concentrated in the technology and semiconductor industry in the Austin area. Oil, gas, as well as petrochemical processing, and mineral production, are found primarily in Wharton and Matagorda counties near the coast.

For a detailed map of Region K, please visit the Texas Geographic Information Office (TxGIO) Regional Water Planning Area Map Collection.

Lower Colorado (Region K) RWPG External Website

Region K Counties

Meeting Minutes & Updates

Meeting Minutes: Visit the "Past Public Meetings & Materials" link on Region K's External Website for official planning group meeting minutes.

Next Meeting: Please see the Upcoming Regional Water Planning Group Meetings webpage for information on the next Region K meeting.

Region K Bylaws

Region K Water Plans

Projections Data

Region K Related Links

TWDB Contacts for Region K

For regional water planning assistance, please contact Lann Bookout, Region K Planner.

For regional water project development assistance, please contact Dain Larsen, Team 5 Manager.