Region I Planning Group

Region IThe East Texas Regional Water Planning Area is composed of all or parts of 20 counties, stretching from the Golden Triangle of Beaumont, Port Arthur, and Orange in the south to Tyler in the north and from the Texas-Louisiana border in the east to the Trinity River Basin boundary in the west. The largest cities include Beaumont, Tyler, Lufkin, and Nacogdoches. The major economic sectors are petrochemical, timber, and agriculture. The principal surface water sources are the Sabine and Neches rivers and their tributaries.

For a detailed map of Region I, please visit the Texas Geographic Information Office (TxGIO)Regional Water Planning Area Map Collection.

East Texas (Region I) RWPG External Website

Region I Counties

Meeting Minutes & Updates

Meeting Minutes: Visit the "Meeting Minutes" link on Region I's External Website for official planning group meeting minutes.

Next Meeting: Please see the Upcoming Regional Water Planning Group Meetings webpage for information on the next Region I meeting.

TWDB Contacts for Region I

For regional water planning assistance, please contact Lann Bookout, Region I Planner.

For regional water project development assistance, please contact Nancy Richards, Team 4 Manager.