Governor Rick Perry swears in new chairman, board members of Texas Water Development Board

For immediate release.  Contact: Kimberly Leggett at 512-463-5129

AUSTIN - (September 3, 2013) - Governor Rick Perry today swore in the new chairman and Board members of the Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) at the agency's offices in Austin.

Carlos Rubinstein, chairman of the Board, and Mary Ann Williamson and Bech Bruun, Board members, were named on August 16. Rubinstein was previously commissioner of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. Bruun served as director of governmental appointments for the Office of the Governor. Williamson is owner of MKS Natural Gas Company and was a board member and chair of the Texas Lottery Commission.

Additionally, the new board named Dr. Robert Mace the Interim Executive Administrator, a role he has held since August 16. Mace will continue in this position until the Board names a permanent executive administrator later in September. He previously served as TWDB Deputy Executive Administrator, Water Science and Conservation.

The TWDB is the state agency charged with collecting and disseminating water-related data, assisting with regional planning and preparing the state water plan for the development of the state’s water resources. The TWDB administers cost-effective financial assistance programs for the construction of water supply, wastewater treatment, flood control, and agricultural water conservation projects.