Minutes of the North East Texas Regional Water Planning Group January 6, 2010 – 1:00 P.M. Mount Pleasant Civic Center 1800 N. Jefferson Mount Pleasant, Texas

The Region D Water Planning Group (NETRWPG) met in an open meeting on Wednesday, January 6, 2010, at 1:00 P.M. The meeting was held at the Mount Pleasant Civic Center, 1800 N. Jefferson, in Mount Pleasant, Texas. Notice of the meeting was legally posted.

Chairman Richard LeTourneau called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. A quorum was present. Invocation was given by Don Hightower.

The following voting members were present:

Max BainTroy HenryKeith BondsDon HightowerAdam BradleyRichard LeTourneau

Gary Cheatwood Sam V. Long
Nancy Clements Sharron Nabors
Darwin Douthit Ken Shaw

Mike Dunn Shirley Shumake
Jim Eidson Bob Staton
Scott Hammer Doug Wadley
Richard Zachary

The following alternates were present:

Jennifer Meyer for Greg Carter

The following non-voting members were present:

Temple McKinnon, representing TWDB
Sandy Cash, representing UTRWD
Troy Sellers, representing Luminant
David Inman, representing Texas Department of Agriculture
Luke Baker, representing Texas Parks and Wildlife
Worth Whitehead, representing Region I

The following non-voting members were absent:

Curtis Campbell Glenda Kindle
Jerry Clark Marcia Hackett
Thomas Taylor Bobby Praytor
Robert McCarthy Larry LeBeau

The following voting members were absent:

Jim NickersonDavid WeidmanBret McCoyDon Patterson

Greg Carter

NETRWPG Minutes for January 6, 2010 Page Two

Richard Zachary made a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting for November 18, 2009. Bob Staton seconded the motion. Motion carried, all voting aye.

Max Bain made a motion to reelect the current slate of officers. Shirley Shumake seconded the motion. Motion carried, all voting aye. Sharron Nabors was appointed liaison to Region C and GMA #8. The liaisons for Region I and GMA #11 remain open.

Kevin Ward, Executive Director, of the Texas Water Development Board gave a presentation on creation of Senate Bill 1 and the responsibilities of the TWDB and the Regional Water Planning Group. Mr. Ward discussed the statutory interest groups and the basic steps in Regional Water Planning. Mr. Ward also showed the timeline for the 2012 State Water Plan and further stated that if the planning group did not have an approved plan, any needed water strategies would not have access to funding from the TWDB. Mr. Ward fielded questions from the public.

Ray Flemons with Bucher, Willis and Ratliff presented information from Chapter 3 that addresses the evaluation of current water supplies in the North East Texas Region and Chapter 8 regarding possible designation of unique reservoir sites and unique streams consistent with the Texas Administrative Code. Mr. Flemons introduced Reeves Hayter of Hayter Engineering that discussed Chapter 3 in detail and reported that the draft chapter was on the FTP site. Mr. Flemons reported that the draft chapter contains a recommendation that Pecan Bayou in Red River County and Black Cypress Bayou/Creek, a tributary of Caddo Lake, be included in the plan as conditionally designated Ecological Unique Stream Segments. No action was taken on the recommendation. Motion was made by Sharron Nabors and seconded by Jim Eidson to add Pine Creek as an additional segment to be considered for EUSS conditional designation. Motion was made by Sam V. Long and seconded by Shirley Shumake to table the motion to include Pine Creek as a designated unique stream segment. Motion to table carried.

Chairman LeTourneau informed the planning group that the Special Study Commission would meet in Sulphur Springs January 21, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. No other liaison reports were given.

Doug Wadley made a motion approve the invoices from BWR that were presented for payment. Bob Staton seconded the motion. Motion carried, all voting aye.

The next meeting of the regional water planning group was set for January 27, 2010 at 1:00 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned unanimously.
Bret McCoy, Secretary

NETRWPG Minutes for January 6, 2010 Page Three

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES:

Walt Sears, Jr.

Lou Richards

William W. Brown

Jenny McKinney

Lee Thomas

Ray Flemons

Jeff Hogan

NETMWD

NETMWD

NETMWD

NETMWD

NETMWD

NETMWD

NETMWD

NETMWD

Reeves Hayter Hayter Engineering Stan Hayes Hayes Engineering

Clyde Barber Canton
Joann Barber Canton
Dolores Cheatwood Bogata
Bob Bowman Lufkin

Moses Ogolla Hayter Engineering

Linda Price Linden

Brandy Chewning Texarkana Gazette

Aliene Goff Edgewood

Darrell Grubbs Titus County Fresh Water District John Jarvis Riverbend Water Resources

Priss Lindsey Bogata

Bonnie Dann

Paul Prange ATCOG
Joe and Patricia McKelvey Bogata
David Nabors Paris

John Cooper Sulphur Springs

George Frost Maud

Gary Burton Burton Engineering

Betty Norris Canton Max Shumake Dekalb

Joe Sandlin

Dan Harding TWDB

Red Birdsong

Wendell Davis Red River County WSC

John McConnellBogataPeggy BelcherBogota

Harry Lewis Sulphur Springs Justin Rutkowski Hayter Engineering

David Nabors SRBA