Minutes of the North East Texas Regional Water Planning Group September 15, 2011 – 1:00 P.M. Mount Pleasant Civic Center 1800 N. Jefferson Mount Pleasant, Texas

The North East Texas Regional Water Planning Group (NETRWPG) – Region D met in an open meeting on Thursday, September 15, 2011, at 1:00 P.M. The meeting was held at the Mount Pleasant Civic Center, 1800 N. Jefferson, in Mount Pleasant, Texas. Notice of the meeting was legally posted.

Chairman Bret McCoy called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. A quorum was present. Chairman McCoy introduced the new voting members of the planning group. Twenty two of twenty-four voting members were present in person or by an authorized alternate. Invocation was given by Bob Staton.

The following voting members were present:

Johnny Mack Bradley Bret McCoy Jerry Gaskill **Sharron Nabors** Robert Speight, Jr. Tim Nicholson Darwin Douthit Linda Price Mike Dunn Shirley Shumake Jim Eidson Tommy Slater Charles Gillis **Kevin Spence Bob Staton** Darrell Grubbs Troy Henry Doug Wadley Robert Holt

The following alternates were present:

Dwight Slaback for Jeremy Dumond Richard LeTourneau for Nancy Clements David Nabors for Sam V. Long

The following non-voting members were present:

Sandy Cash, representing UTRWD Temple McKinnon, representing TWDB Wayne Harris, representing Luminant Larry LeBeau, representing TPWD

The following non-voting members were absent:

Curtis Campbell Thomas Taylor
Jerry Clark Bobby Praytor
David Inman David Meesey
Marcia Hackett Worth Whitehead

Mike Rickman

Page Two

The following voting members were absent:

Jeremy DuMond Nancy Clements Sam V. Long Michael Brown

Don Patterson

Troy Henry made a motion to approve the minutes from the July 28, 2011 meeting. Mike Dunn seconded the motion. Motion carried, all voting aye, except David Nabors voting no.

Richard LeTourneau made a motion for Jim Eidson to be Vice Chair of the planning group. Shirley Shumake seconded the motion. Motion carried, all voting aye. David Nabors made a motion for Linda Price to be an At Large position on the Executive Committee. Darwin Douthit seconded the motion. Motion carried, all voting aye.

Walt Sears reported to the group that orientation was needed for the new members of the planning group. By consensus, the meeting was set for October 4, 2011 at 2:00 p.m. at the Northeast Texas Municipal Water District office located in Hughes Springs, Texas.

Stan Hayes reported during the consultants' report that he should have more information to give to the planning group in November's meeting.

Walt Sears gave on report on declining water elevations in area lakes due to the drought. Mr. Sears said that one out of five systems in the state were in some level of water restrictions. He also told the group that 251 counties out of 254 were in a burn ban situation during the drought. Johnny Mac Bradley told the group that the fire in Marion and Cass counties had been massive and better coordination was needed among all groups fighting the fires. Several voting members spoke to the group regarding the aftermaths of the fire reducing water quality and potential erosion problems. Chairman McCoy stated that these concerns and suggestions should be provided to our local officials.

Temple McKinnon with the Texas Water Development Board told the planning group the locations of the public meetings to present and take comments on the draft 2012 State Water Plan. She relayed that the closest meeting in our area would be held in Terrell, October 11, 2011 at 6 p.m. at the City Service Center. No other liaison reports were given.

During the financial report by the administrator, Walt Sears informed the planning group that the TWDB had advanced funds in an amount of a little over \$50,000 for round 4 planning activities.

The next meeting was set for November 30, 2011 at 1:00 p.m.

Chairman McCoy asked if there was anyone from the public that would like to address the voting membership. Gary Cheatwood from Red River County and Harold Carr from Rains County addressed the planning group.

On	a	motio	n from	David	Nabors	and	a	second	by	Darwin	Douthit,	the	meeting	was
adjo	oui	ned. N	Aotion o	carried,	all voting	g aye.								

Bob Staton,	Secretary

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES:

Don Hightower

Walt Sears, Jr. NETMWD Lou Richards NETMWD

Judy Barton Titus County Fresh Water District

Winnsboro

Stan Hayes Engineering

Bill Kirby SRA Richard Zachary **CSSUD** Sheri New ΙP Patricia Wommack **SRBA** William Brown **NETMWD** Nina Holt Bogata Mary Catherine Grant Annona Harold Carr **Rains County Dolores Cheatwood** Bogata **Greg Carter** SWEPCO David Neely SRBA